New Growth

March 1, 2014 at 8:17 pm 2 comments

The winter is on its way out. Take heart, everyone, it really and truly is. Even if the thermometer doesn’t necessarily agree, the sun does.

Every day, my southwest-facing kitchen window gets a little brighter a little longer. This week I installed an extra shelf on the windowsill, to make more room in that sunny and warm spot for the houseplants that are thriving in their little oasis (this window also has a baseboard heater below it!), and for the seedlings that I hope will be taking root in their little egg-carton cups to make a fine balcony vegetable garden this summer. The first sprouts were spotted this morning!

firstsprouts

Lettuce sprouts!

Some of you readers might remember a post in the summer, where the cockles of my heart were warmed by the eagerness of my houseplants to brave the transition to a new land and put down roots. Well, they just keep making me smile. My little cuttings have turned into real plants. The Christmas cactus is due for a repotting, as the cuttings are overtaking the pot. The baby rubber plant has turned over a new leaf, so to speak, and instead of monochromatic green leaves, now sports beautiful, glossy light and dark leaves. My jade is more circumspect, and is taking its time to grow, but even so is doing well. A retrospective in photos:

The plants I gave up in Cambridge:P1050806 P1050805 P1050804

The transplants, after a month in Montreal:

P1050882 P1050883 ChristmasCactus

Today, 8 months in:

xmascactus greenery jade

And what’s more, I planted some grocery-store sprigs of mint in the summer, and they’ve turned into a sprawling bush of mint. I chopped off some sprigs to try to tame the growth, stuck them in water, and within a couple of days have set out roots with abandon:

mintroots

Things are growing!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Whimsy The year of knitting from my head

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dawn  |  March 1, 2014 at 10:02 pm

    Very nice!

    Reply
  • 2. dayanaknits  |  March 3, 2014 at 4:06 pm

    I was so gung ho about a garden last summer but we have a squirrel tenement in a nearby roof and they ravaged it! I hope you have a wonderful garden, squirrel-free. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Archives

March 2014
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

RSS