Noro + Malabrigo = ♥

March 27, 2011 at 9:30 am 3 comments

Have you ever wondered what would happen if two of your favorite yarns became one, so to speak? Nabbing the attributes of one and the other to make a more perfect yarn?

I’ve wondered. And so, when my dear Auntie Faith wanted a scarf (in blues and teals and purples), I got to thinking. There was some lovely purple sock yarn around, but it wasn’t distinctive enough. My eyes fell on the Noro Kureyon Sock – fingering weight, 1ply, in lovely, long color runs of blue, purple, green, and magenta.

yummy on its own…

The downsides to Noro? The sock yarn is fine. Would make for a rather insubstantial scarf in the end. Also, it’s scratchy! I’ve been promised that the sock yarn wears beautifully – softens, blooms, etc. But I don’t want to have to “age” my yarn – I want it nice now.

From whence was born a brainstorm. Because I also have a skein of the most luscious 1ply laceweight yarn – Malabrigo. In the striking deep blue colorway of Azul Bolita:

Do you see where I’m going with this? Not yet?

Pattern to follow in the near (?) future!

 

As the OED has now entered it into common usage, I can say with no pause that I heart this project.

Entry filed under: designs, knitting, spinning.

A Tale of Two Socks The Great Rhody Yarn Crawl (with pictures)

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Katie  |  March 28, 2011 at 1:04 pm

    Lovely! You have a wheel again?!? (I thought you had to give back your borrowed wheel…)

    Reply
  • 2. gnochistickate  |  March 28, 2011 at 2:07 pm

    I do! My wonderful mother made a Christmas gift of it a year ago, and I don’t give it much attention, but it is a fantastic thing of beauty.

    Reply
  • 3. hespestos  |  January 3, 2012 at 1:19 pm

    What a fabulous idea! As if I needed another reason to get a spinning wheel. What does the final product feel like?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Archives

March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

RSS


