A Tale of Two Socks

February 22, 2011 at 3:19 pm Leave a comment

Did you know that Sock Summit is July 27-31 in Portland, OR this year?

Let me tell ya, I’ve known for a while now. And I really want to go. Now, I’m not the most die-hard sock knitter in the world, but I have a very healthy love of socks, and I want to go to Sock Summit. Wearing my Bayerische socks.

These Bayerische socks:

The Bayerische socks that have been in the works since, oh, the last winter Olympics. So over a year. But it’s not just because I’m slow…no no.

Originally, these were going to be toe-up socks, I’d decided in February 2010. And since the pattern calls for a size 0, and I’m a predictably loose knitter, I dropped to 00 and had at.

But then, I realized, the 00 needles were making too tight a fabric. And besides, I’d been overanxious to turn the heel, and the foot was about a quarter-inch too short. So? Rip it out.

This September I had the guts to go back to square one, and, working from the knee down, have gotten to the heel of sock 1 so far. Meanwhile, I’ve worked on many projects, including a finished man’s sweater done on size 2 needles, a great multi-colored hat, and the auspicious start of a Sylvi coat. But now, I’m thinking, Sock Summit.

Can she finish the forever-socks in time? Can she scrounge up enough cash to go to Portland this summer??

Entry filed under: knitting.

Run on milk, bread, and…yarn Noro + Malabrigo = ♥

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Archives

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

RSS


