Nose Cozy

January 7, 2011 at 8:38 pm 7 comments

I’m not a witch, I’m not a witch! This isn’t my nose, it’s a false one!

This was a fun little knit to compensate for my chilly house. Can be worked in any yarn at any gauge, I used Mountain Colors Worsted on size 4s for a dense fabric, Cascade 220 would be another great choice, but really, the sky’s the limit!

Directions:

CO 22 sts (or enough to get 3.5″ in your gauge).

Work short rows as follows:

Knit across to last stitch (k21), wrap and turn (see below for notes on wrapping and turning).

Purl across to last stitch (p20), wrap and turn.

Knit across until last stitch before wrapped stitch (k19), wrap and turn.

Purl across until last stitch before wrapped stitch (p18), wrap and turn.

Continue in this manner, working until 1 before the wrapped stitch, and wrap and turn until there is only 1 unwrapped stitch remaining.

The second half:

On next row, work unwrapped stitch, and at the wrapped stitch, pick up the wrap, and work it together with the stitch it wraps. Wrap the next stitch and turn.

Work across until next wrapped stitch, pick up the wrap, work it together with the stitch, wrap and turn.

For all following wrapped stitches, you’ll be picking up 2 wraps and working them together. Continue in this manner until you work through all the stitches. Bind off all stitches, tie on cords to hold your nose cozy on, and you’re all set!

On Wrapping and Turning:

[Full wrap-and-turn tutorial here]

My experience has told me that the best way to do wrap-and-turn short rows is to work up to the stitch that needs wrapping, move the yarn between the needles (frontward if you’ve been knitting, backward if you’ve been purling), slip the stitch to the right needle, and turn the work. When you turn the work around,  put the yarn in “working” position – to the front for purling, to the back for knitting – and slip the stitch from left to right again. This wraps the stitch, and you can see the wrap sitting along the bottom of the stitch’s shank. Notice that the stitch hasn’t been worked, just wrapped.

Some of you may have found instructions that change the order of events depending on which side of the work you’re on, but trust me on this one – wrap, slip, turn, slip. It makes a nice, smooth fabric with no holes.

When working the second half of your short rows, you’ll be picking up the wraps. On the first stitch of each side, you’ll pick up just one wrap, but then you’ll wrap and turn again, leading to double wraps which both need to be picked up and worked with that stitch. When you’re working a wrap on the knit side, pick up the wrap from the front of the fabric from below the wrap. I then put the stitch on the right needle along with the wrap (knit-wise), and pull both wrap and stitch onto my right needle entirely. This allows me to put the left needle into both loops securely (think of the last steps of ssk), and makes knitting them together much simpler.

On the purl side, you’ll want to pick up your wraps from the back of the fabric, from the bottom of the wrap. This can feel awkward, especially when you’re picking up a double-wrap, but persevere! I find Addi Lace and Knitpicks needles, with their sharp tips, to come in handy in these situations. Similarly to the knit side, once I pick up the wrap, I also pick up the stitch to be worked, but I move both pieces to the right needle and re-insert the left before moving on – it makes the execution of the stitch considerably easier.

Next nose cozy I make, I’ll take pictures to make this crystal clear, because my favorite photo tutorial has vanished from teh interwebz! O noes! [Edit: see here for photo tutorial!]

Enjoy your nose cozy in good health!

Entry filed under: designs, knitting, techniques.

Knits for a New Year Run on milk, bread, and…yarn

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jean  |  August 21, 2011 at 9:42 am

    Oh my goodness!!! A couple weeks ago my cousin asked me to knit him a nose cozy and I was trying to make a pattern and it was pretty hard. I couldn’t find a pattern online. I thought nobody wanted to knit a nose cozy but me! I wish I had found this pattern sooner because I like this one better than the one I made him.

    Reply
    • 2. gnochistickate  |  August 21, 2011 at 10:46 am

      You could always whip up a few of these with variations (think – pompoms or tassels on the end, anyone?) and shower him with them come the holidays!

      Reply
  • 3. Janet Reinhart  |  September 29, 2011 at 1:01 pm

    My 5th grade teacher made everyone in my class a Nose Warmer for Christmas! I’d almost forgotten about those! But they were cute!

    Reply
  • 4. Andrea  |  October 18, 2011 at 9:18 pm

    I’m going to make one of these for my dad.

    All my life I’ve known him to sleep on his back with the covers pulled up over his (larger than average) nose to prevent air from crossing it. It makes him sneeze. I’m not kidding, its an actual problem! I bet there’s an entire population who needs these but are too embarrassed to talk about it! 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Lisa  |  November 18, 2011 at 3:03 am

    My grandmother made nosewarmers for lots of us grandchildren in the 60s and 70s. And she made them in our school colors, with a tassel on the point. But it seems like the pattern was much simpler–and maybe crocheted. This is a great pattern, though.

    Reply
  • […] Nose Cozy […]

    Reply
  • […] Nose Cozy […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Archives

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

RSS


