Knits for a New Year

January 7, 2011 at 6:01 pm 1 comment

2011 is still in its infancy, but is off to an auspicious start. I spent New Years’ Day cataloging a great deal of the yarn that wasn’t specifically earmarked for projects in my stash, and putting it on Ravelry. I’ve knitted myself a nose cozy (pictures forthcoming), and taught a wonderful spinning workshop at Dudley House, which was much better attended than I’d anticipated – 12 people came to make drop spindles and learn the basics of spinning yarn. Unfortunately, we were all so wrapped up in our spinning that no one managed to get a photo of the occasion. I’ll always have my memories, though!

I’m eagerly awaiting my trip to Western MA next week for two reasons – one, the yoga that awaits me at Kripalu, but two, the big bag of yarn waiting for me at WEBS! I placed a special order in early December, and it’s arrived! I asked them to hold onto it until they received a needle I sent in as a return had arrived, so they could exchange it for the right size, but that needle is still en route, almost 2 weeks after my having sent it. I’ve complained to the USPS, because it “left the sorting facility” in Springfield, MA on Dec. 29, and then apparently dropped off the face of the earth. I decided that, since there’s such a delay anyway, I would have them hold the yarn in the shop for me and I’d save myself the shipping costs by picking it up in person. I can’t wait!

So, what are the projects of 2011? Number one will be the Sylvi coat:

A showstopper, in ruby red Cascade 220 superwash and on size 10 needles – it should make for a fun, big-needle knit, and a great garment to have!

The next project is the Venezia pullover by Eunny Jang, one of my favorite designers (I liked it much better when she was designing and not editing Interweave, personally):

My plan is to change the colors to something more like this (I love Photoshop…):

I’ll be working this in Reynold’s Whiskey, which I picked up from WEBS also on that trip in December. It’ll be a fun project, with lots of colors, shaping, and steeks (oh, my!). But, nothing too scary. I’ll have to see how much I trust this yarn before I cut the unreinforced steeks Eunny uses. Maybe I’ll chicken out and run a long running stitch through them beforehand, just in case…

Lots of good knitting to look forward to! Here’s hoping it doesn’t cause hand/arm-ageddon 2011!

Entry filed under: knitting.

Spinning and the center Nose Cozy

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Katie  |  January 8, 2011 at 4:38 am

    Excellent plans for 2011! I’m in absolute agreement with you re: Eunny Jang. I have a started-but-not-finished Venezia of my own – in storage in Boston (will have to look into remedying that).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Archives

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

RSS


