Itchy soles

July 20, 2010 at 12:16 am Leave a comment

Especially in days lacking concrete structure, as summer tends to do, I’m filled with a sort of restlessness. I want to start new things, I want to pick back up old things that have fallen to the wayside. I want to write songs (this is a mere fantasy – I’ve never so much as written two lines that I’m happy with), write books (see the note about songs); design things, knit things, sew things; spend time spinning, plucking on the banjo, dancing; study to be a yoga instructor, devote more time to meditation; feel confident in my academic work.

That’s a full plate for a few restless days.

What I have managed to do, however, is pick up a few old projects that had been left by the wayside. One is my firebird shawl, which hit a snag once the tricky part started, and really needs some heavy-duty brain power to complete. I wish I had a knitting genius friend to have coffee with and hash out the last dozen or so rows. Any takers?

 

Another is my Tantric Puzzle Top – not my own design, but a rough shell of a pattern I’m working on. The finished product is supposed to be something like this:

So far, mine is something like this:

I’ve got a ways to go, but I’m hoping it’ll be awesome when done. And of course, I’ve got about six other things on the back burner, including a shawl I’ve worked 4 rows of, another that I’ve just planned out a bit, 4 more skeins of Wollmeise that just arrived on my doorstep this afternoon (thanks Kate!), a bag of llama to spin, and lots else.

And then there’s my banjo that’s feeling awfully lonesome these days – maybe it’ll come out and play tomorrow.

Entry filed under: knitting.

A bit of sewing – the Hobo Bag Lining So you wanna be a Slavic PhD

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Archives

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

RSS


