Firebird rising…

February 15, 2010 at 1:23 pm 4 comments

Hello!

Some of you may remember my post where I mentioned designing some books, one based on Russian folklore and fairy tales. Well, I’ve been working hard on one design, my Firebird shawl. A classic triangular shawl in fiery orangey red, with a flame/feather motif to start, larger “peacock” feathers, some beads, and a lot of glamor.

For those of you who don’t know about the Firebird, or Жар-птица (Zhar-ptitsa), it is  a magical bird whose feathers glow like fire, often an omen (of good or bad).

I’m hoping that the pattern will be ready for test-knitters by mid-March, and for sale online soon thereafter. The plan is to work one-by-one on the patterns, releasing them as they come, and then compiling them into a collection with accompanying illustrations and stories. It should be great!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Hobo Bag update! Springtime!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mira  |  February 16, 2010 at 11:02 am

    It looks great!! Are you looking for people to test-knit?

    Reply
    • 2. gnochistickate  |  February 16, 2010 at 12:53 pm

      I will be! Might you be interested?

      Reply
      • 3. Mira  |  February 16, 2010 at 12:54 pm

        Yes, I would definitely be interested! (and by mid-March I should be done with the commission knitting that is currently consuming all my time)

  • 4. Jill  |  July 28, 2010 at 8:56 pm

    my neice Kate thinks I can help you with this… please contact me and maybe we can work your problem out.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Archives

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

RSS


