Yogic Knitting

April 4, 2013 at 11:17 am 2 comments

In my last post, I wrote about an overlap of my academic research and my fiber obsession. This post is another synthesis, and is a rough-hewn idea I’ve been working through.

I’m in the process of putting together a pair of workshops that wed yoga and knitting as they deserve to be, highlighting the mindful meditative qualities of the handicraft and bringing some reflection and release to knitters who want to zen-out even more in the process, and to give a new set of creative skills to yogis who want to learn the basics of knitting.

One workshop of yoga for knitters, one workshop of knitting for yogis. Making mindfully. Coming to an LYS or yoga studio near you soon? Definitely more details to come.

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Knitted calligraphy! A love letter to sock needles

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kate  |  April 4, 2013 at 8:35 pm

    This sounds like a wonderful idea. Have you thought about the asana aspect of yoga as a way for knitters to become more aware of their bodies as they knit? I’m a much happier knitter (and writer, for that matter) when I pay attention to posture, alignment, and breath.

    Reply
    • 2. gnochistickate  |  April 5, 2013 at 9:35 am

      Kate, that’s a big part of what’s interesting me about this. I find that my new knitters often fall into bad bodily habits early on, and I try to help them out when I can, but it’s hard to be really in your body when you’re trying hard to focus on something new in your head and hands.

      This is also why I want to try to teach knitting specifically to yoga practitioners in a meditative setting, because I want to see what the difference is if people go into knitting with an idea that it’s a mind-body physical practice and not a fiddly handicraft.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Categories

Archives

April 2013
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

RSS


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

