A published designer!

July 17, 2009 at 1:32 pm 17 comments

Hello friends,

I’m giving this a shot – my first foray into the world of making my knitting designs publicly available. Thankfully wordpress lets me upload PDFs!
Some background: This bag has been my go-to bag for the last 4 years since I first made it. The square base gives you plenty of nooks and crannies for tucking wallets, water bottles, and fresh fruit into, not to mention making laptop transportation easier. The handles are based on a sine curve, evenly distributing the downward force from the load inside along the handle’s edge, allowing a thin but elegant shape near the top, and a hole easy to sling over your shoulder. The stripes appeared out of necessity – I was running out of the two colors I’d originally bought, and my LYS only had a complementary color, and so the third color was introduced. You use nearly all of the three skeins.

The pattern has been test-knitted with good results, and my only regret is that I’ve not been able to write out clearer instructions for the lining part. If anyone has ideas, I’m happy to hear suggestions!

Happy knitting,

Katie

Download Katie’s Infamous Hobo Bag (corrected version 03/13)

UPDATE: 7/18/10 – a year later, instructions for the bag lining are up! See the new post for more details.

Entry filed under: designs, knitting. Tags: .

Heavenly Jerusalem? More Designs – Noro Hat

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mira  |  July 17, 2009 at 2:18 pm

    That’s a really cool bag! Thanks for sharing your pattern :) (you could totally teach a class on this bag — even though most of it is pretty basic, a lot of people (myself included) wouldn’t know where to begin for lining it).

    Reply
  • 2. bobobobo  |  July 18, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    Neat! You know though you aren’t locked into wordpress’s file upload limitations.. I use esnips all the time.

    Reply
  • 3. jenngator222  |  July 28, 2009 at 4:25 pm

    Such a cute bag!

    Reply
  • 4. Linda  |  November 21, 2009 at 5:27 pm

    Katie,

    So nice to meet you, love The Stich House, great bag! Know I will put it on my to do list!

    Reply
  • 5. paula gordon  |  March 31, 2010 at 2:31 pm

    katie you really need to check your math on the bag base it is all wrong…check your rounds..you cannot make 4 stitches with round 4 and on…

    Reply
    • 6. Katie  |  March 31, 2010 at 4:34 pm

      Paula,
      Thanks for your comment, and I’m glad you’re working on the bag!

      Hopefully I can give you some help, as I assure you the math on this is good – bear with me.

      You start by working 8 stitches in the round. In round 2, you increase every other stitch with a “make one” – this is crucial, a kfb increase will not work with these numbers. At the end of this round you’ll have 16, which you knit even in round 3.

      Round 4 starts our real corner increases, and it’s important to be doing your “make one”, not a kfb, to keep the numbers in check. [K1, m1, k3, m1] is worked 4 times in the round, so you start with 16 and end up making 8 new stitches, giving you a total of 24.

      Round 6 continues on this premise. You knit one, make one, knit up to your next corner, make one, and repeat 3 more times to complete the round, so really at each corner you’re getting a m1, k1, m1 effect.

      If it’s still making you crazy, try a swatch where you do YOs instead of the M1s – it produces the same stitch count, and is more visible (if less sturdy). That way you’ll be able to see your increases lining up on top of one another.

      Hope this helps!

      Reply
      • 7. TerpGirl  |  August 22, 2014 at 8:05 pm

        I was just reading through the comments and am curious why a kfb will not work. I just finished the bag and I used a kfb on the one I made and it worked for me. I’m just really wondering what it is that I did now that made it work for me?

  • 8. Diane  |  July 14, 2010 at 7:17 am

    Want to make sure I am following pattern correctly. After k1 m1 k9 m1 it says continue in this manner. So the next even row will be k1 m1 k11 m1. and so on. Is this correct?

    Reply
    • 9. gnochistickate  |  July 14, 2010 at 7:48 am

      Exactly – the number of stitches between the m1’s will increase by 2 each time.

      Thanks, and let me know if you have any other questions!

      -Katie

      Reply
  • 10. diane  |  July 14, 2010 at 2:07 pm

    Thanks just wanted to make sure. Gonna start it today. Can’t wait.

    Reply
  • 11. Laurie  |  September 18, 2011 at 1:00 am

    Thanks for the pattern. I made one and am almost done witht the second. I love it so much, giving them to my daughters for Christmas. Thanks again

    Reply
  • 12. mamaleh6994  |  May 19, 2012 at 10:13 pm

    Thanks so much for this awesome pattern! I hope you don’t mind, but I linked to this pattern on my own blog with a picture of my final product. Let me know if you want me to change that, and thanks again for the great pattern! The bag is great. :)

    Reply
  • 13. Deebumblebee  |  March 10, 2013 at 3:26 pm

    Hi there I’m knitting your lovely Hobo bag pattern, but I’m afraid I’ve got stuck. It’s on the decreases for the handle. Having reached row 46 (Rows 35-58. Repeat 29-32 6 more times 26sts) I’m already down to 26 stitches and yet there’s still more decreases to be done to reach the desired 58 rows. I’m thinking the instruction for repeating these 4 rows is (s1,k1,k2tog,k until 4 remain,ssk,k2. Then s1, p to end) twice.
    I’ve undone it and done it again and it still comes out wrong. Help!!!
    Hope you find my post soon and thank you in advance for your help.
    DeeBumblebee.

    Reply
    • 14. gnochistickate  |  March 10, 2013 at 4:19 pm

      Hi DeeBumblebee!

      You’re right, there’s a typo that’s gone unnoticed all this while. The instructions for that part should read: Rows 35-58: Repeat rows **31-34** six more times (26 sts).

      That should make the decreases happen once every 4 rows, working out correctly otherwise.

      Good luck, and happy knitting!

      (For everyone else, I’m uploading a corrected version asap)

      Reply
  • 15. Deebumblebee  |  March 11, 2013 at 6:45 am

    Cool that sounds more like it. Thank you!

    Reply
  • 16. Marie  |  April 15, 2013 at 4:22 pm

    I have some beautiful bulky wool that I’m considering using to make a post-knitting, felted version of this bag. Any tips or suggestions?

    I’m thinking if I make the bag following the instructions, but with larger needles, it should turn out.

    Reply
  • 17. TerpGirl  |  August 22, 2014 at 8:00 pm

    I love your bag pattern so much! I just completed one of these as a gift for a friend using Sugar ‘N Cream cotton yarn. I’m not one who can sew but my friend is so I’m going to print out your lining instructions and give those to her along with the bag so she can customize it the way she wants. I am sure I will make another one of these. Thank you so much for the pattern!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Categories

Archives

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

RSS


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

